Mini Homestead…In A Trailer Park

Learning to Live for the Future

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • What Would You Like to Do?

  • Do You Find This Blog Helpful?

    It takes time to put all of this information together each month. If you find the information useful, please consider donating so I can keep it all going. Any amount is fine. If each reader donated only $1.00 - $3.00, it would be very helpful. Want something for the $3.00?

    Consider ordering a mini eBook or an eCookBook. These can be found below.

    Donations can be sent via PayPal to shannonlbuck@gmail.com

    ***********
    Each months Mini eBook comes with 20 FREE Bonus Tips for you, that were not put on this blog. All new for you!

    @ $3.75 per mini eBook, these are a steal.

    Choices (hover mouse over title and click)

    1. Keeping the Single Mom Home: The Living Room
    2. Keeping the Single Mom Home: The Kitchen
    3. Keeping the Single Mom Home: The Bathroom

    Format: PDF

    Please help us out by purchasing one or more mini eBooks. I write them and my daughter edits them. We are a mother/daughter team. She is paid for each one that she edits.

    ***********
    My eCookBooks feature the recipes and information from the Frugal Recipes blog that was added from 2007 to 2009, most of which has been deleted from the blog to make room for a lot of new content. The proceeds from the sales of these eCookBooks go toward bettering that blog.

    1. Beverages on a Budget $4.95
    2. Main Meal Magic $6.95
    3. Very Frugal Vegetables: Recipes and Uses $6.95
    4. Fabulously Frugal Fruits: Recipes and Uses $6.95

  • Follow Me on Twitter

  • Helpful Books

    1. * The Encyclopedia of Country Living by Carla Emery
    2. * Rodale's Complete Book of Home Freezing
  • Helpful Magazines

    1. * Mother Earth News
    2. * Backwoods Home Magazine
    3. * Back Home Magazine
    4. * Countryside and Small Stock Journal
  • Helpful Sites

  • This blog and all of the information, articles, etc. placed on it, are copyrighted 2008 - 2014 by Shannon L. Buck. If you would like to contact me about possibly using any of this information, do so at shannonlbuck@gmail.com.

    NOTE: Guest posts and feature articles by other are copyrighted by the author of each. They are not to be used without the authors' permission.

    PRIVACY POLICY: 1. I do not give away or sell email addresses.I am not responsible for email addresses obtained because you leave them in comments, though. 2. You can disable cookies. This blog may use them to collect information. Such information may include IP addresses, name, email, location, browser and operating system, among other information. 3. I am not responsible for privacy policies for sites me or others link to. 4. I reserve the right to change the Privacy Policy at any time. 5. You can contact me at shannonlbuck@gmail.com with any questions. 6. I may contact those who email or direct mail me, as well as those who comment on my blog and/or subscribe. 7. Orono, ME 04473

Mini Homestead Happenings for 12/11/2008

Posted by Shannon L. Buck on December 11, 2008


We had received some nice snow during the beginning of the week, but it disappeared with the rain yesterday. This keeps happening. It snows, then it is gone.

We have another chance to keep some snow. We are, apparently, supposed to be getting another storm tonight. This one is supposed to be pretty bad, and it should leave us with about 8″ of snow. We shall see how long it lasts this time.

It was a cold but refreshing walk this morning. I have been sick and my asthma kicked in pretty bad because of it. I continued with my meds as usual, and didn’t walk or do as many other physical activities as I normally do, but was still having problems. I felt a little better yesterday, and still better today. I hate colds!

IW (11) took his merry old time with his math today: Almost 4 hours worth of time. No pressure, he just had to bring homework home with him tonight. C (9) came over on the bus after school today. She helped me with dinner, practiced her math and spelling, and played with Lego’s before deciding that she wanted to draw and write a story.

Sheila’s professor told her that he was not having class this evening due to the impending storm, which is why IW is not spending the night. I sent his list of homework for tonight, as well as a list of his scheduled school work for tomorrow and one of his weekend homework. I figured that, if we are all housebound tomorrow, there is no reason why anyone should be getting behind on their homeschool work.

If Zowie’s one class tomorrow is canceled at the high school, she also has homeschool work that she can work on, until we have to walk to her doctor appointment tomorrow afternoon.

If school is canceled, we may also have C from noon until evening sometime.

I watched some Christy episodes yesterday. They are an inspiration in homesteading, in my opinion. Their mission had little money, so they really had to make do, as did the people in their area. The episodes show their hardships, but also how they ‘overcome’ them. And how they overcome hardships is what can be very inspirational.

I am currently looking into how one can stock up on food for a year, at least. I figure that, the first year on my own land may not produce a great food yield, so I will want to be prepared with plenty of food. A small walk-in room of the side of my shack should suffice for storage purposes.

Another small walk-in room, on the other side of the shack, will hold the wood for the stove. I aim to figure out how much wood I will need to get me through a winter before going to a new homestead as well. I saw a contraption that makes splitting logs easier, which I do intend to have. That is, if I choose a wood stove.

I also want a cookstove, if possible. What with having no utilities, I will need to be able to cook inside during the winter. I will be looking into this as well. My question here is, do you use wood for cookstoves? If so, does the wood need to be cut smaller than in a woodstove?

Skye just called. She is my older daughter (19) and lives up north here in Maine with her fiance and roommates. She will be coming down for some of the holiday celebrations, and is very excited about it. She does not get to come down often.

Well, have to go for now.

Shannon

P.S. If you check out my links, you will notice a link for sourdough recipes. I have not tried them out yet, but one of my goals is to learn how to make sour dough bread. This link will lead you to a place that has different recipes, including hamburger buns and cinnamon rolls.

7 Responses to “Mini Homestead Happenings for 12/11/2008”

  1. Shannon said

    Cook stoves or wood stoves? I can cook on my wood stove but not bake with it. With a cook stove you could heat, cook and bake. I would buy a cook stove.

    You should have a variety of wood. Small pieces and large pieces. You want to start of with small pieces until you get your coals going then you can put big pieces on. You also want a variety of woods. A mixture of soft and hard woods. You want those large pieces to be oak. The smaller ones can be the soft woods. Basically anything. 🙂

    I know I’m home with the wood stoves all day.

    I love sourdough! Today I made the best banana muffins with my starter. I used the muffin recipe from the link on your sidebar. 😉

    Hugs!

  2. Peach said

    Hi! I just found this blog as well as the Living the Low-Income Life blog and I just wanted to drop in and introduce myself. I’ve added you to my favorites and hope to drop by more often!

  3. You are a great person. I like it so much! 😀 I really liked your article. Thanks.

  4. Shannon said

    I have given you an award. Come see me and find out more about it. 😀

    Hugs!

  5. Thanks for the award, and the advice! I am guessing that I may go with the cookstove, so that I can bake, cook and heat with it. That should work for a one room shack. A pantry does not really need very much heat.

    This is great information that will be going into my homesteading notebook.

  6. Is this the gizmo you found to make wood-splitting easier? I have a bad back, and I’m looking into getting one of these! http://smartlogsplitter.com/ (one of these days…)

    Also, for when you build your home, check out masonry heaters: http://mha-net.org/ You build a fire, can cook in it/on it, but it also has a lot of thermal mass (in the form of lots of brick/stone), so that it stores the heat, and even once the fire dies out, still puts out heat that’s been stored! Some people say for heating purposes they only have to fire it once a day. There is a drawback, though – because it does store heat, it takes a while to get warm/hot, too – so if it gets totally cold, you’ll be totally cold unless you’re sitting right beside the fire until everything warms back up again…

Leave a Reply

 
